Fundraising Dinner, Part II

To read the prequel to this post, Part I, click here.

Last night saw round two of my fabulous 3-course dinner installment. With one success story under my belt, I went into the event quite confident of my recently discovered culinary prowess. So confident, in fact, that I didn’t even draw up a plan this time! No down-to-the-minute scheduling nor detailed drawing of the final arrangement of food on the plate. Some might call my preparing the meal a day in advance with a professional caterer friend cheating, but I call it good sense.

First, I prepared my ingredients.

Struggling to peel a ginger, my new favourite root vegetable.

Struggling to peel some ginger, my new favourite root vegetable.

Before long, I had the beginnings of my first and main courses on the hob: what looks like peas and goop but will soon become pea soup and chicken curry.

Peas and cumin and things all boiling away

Peas and cumin and things all boiling away

Ginger and onions and garlic and all sorts of things that make for a delicious curry

Ginger and onions and garlic and all sorts of bits that make for a delicious curry

…From that, to this:

Left: Cumin Pea soup. Centre: Chickpea something-or-other Right: Chicken curry

Left: Cumin Pea soup.
Centre: Chickpea something-or-other
Right: Chicken curry

(You’ll have to imagine the rest of the rice, beverages, guests, table layout and the chocolate & rum and chocolate & coffee tarts that completed the dining experience. It was all so exciting at the time that my trusty photographer forgot to take any photos.)

And there concludes my week as the family Masterchef. I’m well on my way to reaching my target of £800, huge thanks to everyone who’s donated thus far! Just a little way to go yet – click here to read more about my fundraising effort and perhaps donate a little something.

Leave a Reply

