How to be really good at injections

For those of you who have never had the privilege of accompanying me to the doctor’s office, you have missed out on something truly special. For those of you who have been blessed with such a luxury, I congratulate you. (Overachiever that I am, I was the only student in a school of 600 allowed to miss out on the annual flu-jab. Apologies to the 4 nurses that failed to restrain me.)

It’s not the doctor him/herself that terrifies me. It just so happens that I have a crippling fear of needles and, to me, every appointment is another opportunity for the doctor to stick things in me where I don’t see them belonging. A trip to the travel clinic, where the sole purpose of my visit is to have the nurse use me as her personal pin cushion for half an hour, is not exactly my idea of a good time.

And yet, I’ve managed.

Photographic evidence: band-aids on shoulders, anti-malarials in hands

Photographic evidence: band-aids on shoulders, anti-malarials in hands

Today marks my final appointment with my new best friend, Nurse Wonderjab*. She has, over the course of the past month, bravely injected me with a juicy cocktail of  health: Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B, Rabies, Typhoid, Meningitis, Tetanus… Going into our first meeting, I never believed she could do it. I have since concluded that she was sent by a higher power.

Vaccinated and medicated up to my eyeballs, I am feeling quite prepared for my 3-month placement.

*Name has been changed to protect my favourite nurse’s identity

Leave a Reply

