Five Photos

Due to my busy working schedule and other such commitments, the blog has sadly been left rather to her own devices over the past few months. However, in an attempt to revive her, I’ve decided to post some photos of my experiences in bite-size portions of five at a time.

(All of the photos are my own. Please contact me before attempting to copy or reproduce them.)

Five women wait, hiding from the midday sun, for the wedding to begin. The women, traditionally, engage in group activities with the bride-to-be for days leading up to the ceremony. Today's ceremony is just one of several.

Five women wait, hiding from the midday sun, for the wedding to begin.
The women traditionally engage in group activities with the bride-to-be for days leading up to the ceremony. Today’s ceremony is just one of several.

Advertising consists of visiting churches and hanging posters in local markets. I also love the colours of this photo, unedited.

Advertising consists of visiting churches and hanging posters in local markets. The handwritten poster invites the local community to our big Tikambe event.
I also love the colours of this photo; it is unedited.

Testing for HIV/AIDs and Malaria, kindly run by a local charity. Even with my phobia of needles I was able to brave the tent and even had a good chat with the nurse. She later told me that their usual mark of success is 'over 60 people tested in one day'. She didn't tell me how many people got tested during our Tikambe event, but she did say she'd never seen such a good turnout.

Testing for HIV/AIDs and Malaria, kindly run by a local charity.
Even with my phobia of needles I was able to brave the tent and had a good chat with the nurse. She later told me that their usual mark of success is “over 60 people tested in one day”. She didn’t tell me how many people got tested during our Tikambe event, but she did confirm that we’d passed the 60-person mark. She’d never seen such a good turnout.

A doctor with the HIV/AIDs testing and counseling charity engages a group of reluctant men in conversation. These men had walked some distance to attend the event - which offered health talks and financial education opportunities - but were hesitant to join the fray, initially. They all got tested by the end of the day.

A doctor with the HIV/AIDs testing and counseling charity engages a group of reluctant men in conversation.
These men had walked some distance to attend the event – which offered health talks and financial education opportunities – but were initially hesitant to join the fray. They all got tested by the end of the day.

From left to right, the church band, choir and congregation jamming out to some of the most beautiful and spiritual music I've ever heard

From left to right, the church band, choir and congregation jamming out to some of the most beautifully spiritual music I’ve ever heard

One thought on “Five Photos

Leave a Reply

